Mobile rotate icon
Please rotate your phone to portrait mode.
Share icon

Moksha - The ultimate goal of the soul

Dhananjay Modgalya
Feb 27, 2022
Clock icon
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Moksha - The ultimate goal of the soul

Moksha is the ultimate goal of the soul, according to the Vedas and Vedic astrology. It is the spiritual liberation that the soul is constantly aiming for as it passes through the cycle of life and death. According to the Vedic aims of life, a soul must achieve four objectives – Dharma, Artha, Kama and Moksha. While ‘Dharma’ equates with career, ‘Artha’ with wealth, and ‘Kama’ with enjoyment, nothing is supreme to ‘moksha’, which is spiritual liberation. Without liberation or moksha, the other three goals have no real meaning in life.

Our soul is the true reflection of the supreme being. Attaining moksha brings fulfilment and completes the cycle of life and death that the soul needs to undergo until it achieves salvation or liberation. It is said that when an individual’s soul attains moksha, he/she is believed to have achieved the highest level of absolute consciousness. This means that the person is more aware of life, death, and eternity. But how can one determine where in the path to moksha is their soul stands? Well, reading the birth chart of an individual helps us do this!

An astrologer can study the birth chart of an individual to determine whether their soul will be able to achieve moksha in the present lifetime or still needs more time in the life and death cycle to get there. The birth chart of an individual has some ‘yogas’ or ‘possibilities’ that indicate various situations. One such yoga is the ‘moksha yoga’, which indicates a strong possibility that the individual will attain moksha in the current or the next lifetime.

In a horoscope, there are three houses that are particularly looked at to learn more about life, death, and moksha. These are the 4th, 8th and 12th houses. The 4th house talks about the ‘end of life’, the 8th house is indicative of ‘death’ and the 12th house talks about ‘after death’. Apart from this, one needs to also look at the ascendant, 5th house, 9th house, Jupiter(Guru), Saturn(Shani), Sun, Moon, Ketu and various combinations of these planets, the houses and their lords.

Some combinations that are indicative of the possibility of a native being able to attain moksha in the present life are:

  • If Saturn is placed in the 9th house, it makes the native a seeker of moksha
  • If the birth chart of the individual has Jupiter or Ketu, or both in the 12th house, it indicates that the native will be able to attain moksha in the current birth or the next lifetime will have less pain and struggle.
  • Sun in astrology represents an individual’s soul. If Sun in an individual’s birth chart is placed in the 12th house, it indicates that the native will be interested in spirituality in the laster part of his/her life or in the old age.
  • The lords of the 5th, 9th  and 10th houses in the 12th house give moksha to the native.
  • Moon and Saturn positioned in each other’s house and aspect each other.

While these yogas are said to give the native moksha, the actual attainment of moksha is a complex interplay of astrological placements of the planets, their individual behaviours and the karma that an individual has accrued over many lifetimes. It is important to note that for a person to attain moksha, he/she must desire and travel on the path to attain moksha as well.

What your horoscope says about your journey towards enlightenment or Moksha, download the Taaraka astrology app and know your life path. There are many expert modern astrologers with Taaraka astrology who will help you find yourself and your journey towards enlightenment.

Read more interesting articles